Scope

This research guide is not all-inclusive. It does, however, present resources available at the California Western library and online regarding issues of international environmental law. It is designed to provide the researcher with guidance as to the location of materials dealing with this subject. Additional research can be conducted by using the KIM system, legal periodical indices, and other finding aids. Access to licensed databases limited to students and faculty at California Western. We welcome suggestions for improvement on this and other research guides. Please consult the Reference Librarian with suggestions and further research questions. This research guide was originally compiled July 2000. It was most recently revised July 2010.
[NOTE ON INTERNET: Internet site addresses change frequently. Accordingly, some of the sites noted throughout this research guide may no longer exist under the addresses provided. To locate changed addresses, search for the page title using an Internet search engine such as Google (www.google.com).
General Materials--Books
Birnie, Patricia, Alan E. Boyle, and Catherine Redgwell. International law and the environment, 3rd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585.4 .B57 2009
Bodansky, Daniel. The art and craft of international environmental law. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard, 2010.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .B63 2010
Desai, Bharat. Institutionalizing international environmental law. Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, 2004.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .D475 2004
DiMento, Joseph F. The global environment and international law. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .D54 2003
Guruswamy, Lakshman D., and Brent R. Henricks. International environmental law in a nutshell, 3rd ed.. St. Paul, Minn.: Thomson/West, 2007.
LOCATION: Reserve-Nutshells
CALL NO.: K3585.6 .G87
International protection of the environment: treaties and related documents. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.: Oceana Publications, 1975-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585.4 .I595
Kiss, Alexandre Charles, and Dinah Shelton. Guide to international environmental law. Leiden ; Boston: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, c2007.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .K5695 2007
Louka, Elli. International environmental law : fairness, effectiveness, and world order. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .L68 2006
Nanda, Ved P., and George (Rock) Pring. International environmental law & policy for the 21st century. Ardseley, N.Y.: Transnational Publishers, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .N36 2003
Oxford handbook of international law. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .O94 2007
Picolloti, Romina, and Taillant, Jorge Daniel, eds. Linking human rights and the environment. Tuscon, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .L56 2003
Rajamani, Lavanya. Differential treatment in international environmental law. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .R34 2006
Sands, Philippe. Principles of international environmental law, 2nd ed. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585.4 .P75 2003
United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (1992: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) Agenda 21 & the UNCED proceedings. New York : Oceana, c1992
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3582.U536 A3 1992
Yearbook of international environmental law. London: Graham & Trotman; Norwell, MA : Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, 1990-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3581.2 .Y43
General Materials--Periodicals
Colorado journal of international environmental law and policy. Niwot, CO: The University Press of Colorado for The Colorado Journal of International Environmental Law, Inc., 1990-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3 .O4
Georgetown international environmental law review. [Washington, DC : Georgetown International Environmental Law Review, 1988-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K7 .E573
New Zealand journal of environmental law. Auckland: Faculty of Law, University of Auckland, 1997-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KUQ1507.A13 N48
General Materials--Internet
Burnett, Anne. ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Environmental Law.
http://www.asil.org/resource/env1.htm
-This web site contains a very comprehensive research guide on international environmental law. Ms. Burnett incorporates both print and online resources.
Moyer, Vincent. Research Guide—International Environmental Law (2008), available at http://alturl.com/ej7bj
This site is a bibliography of books on international environmental law which are available at the UC Hastings Law Library. You can search for the titles in the KIM system to see if California Western owns them.
United Nations
http://www.un.org
-This is the main web site for the United Nations. You can link to a variety of resources from this page, including UN documents, publications and databases.
United Nations Treaty Series
http://treaties.un.org/Pages/UNTSOnline.aspx?id=1
--Treaties can be searched by popular name, title, or participant.
UN General Assembly Resolutions
1977-Current: http://www.un.org/documents/resga.htm
UN Security Council Resolutions
1946-Current: http://www.un.org/documents/scres.htm
U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/
-Includes site specific search engine.
Multilateral Conventions: An Overview of Those Currently Enforced
http://www.publicadministration.net/resources/multilateral-conventions-currently-enforced/
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI) http://sedac.ciesin.org/entri/
-Use "Treaty Locator" to search for treaties.
Biodiversity and Wildlife Conservation
Print resources
From principles to practice: indigenous peoples and biodiversity conservation in Latin America: proceedings of the Pucallpa conference: Pucallpa, Peru, 17-20 March 1997. Copenhagen: IWGIA, 1998.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: GN380 .I93 vol.87
Gillepsie, Alexander. Whaling diplomacy: defining issues in international environmental law. Cheltenham, UK ; Northhampton, MA : Edward Elgar, 2005.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3900.W57 G55 2005
Kunich, John C. Ark of the broken covenant: protecting the world’s biodiversity hotspots. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585 .K86 2003
Lyster, Simon. International wildlife law: an analysis of international treaties concerned with the conservation of wildlife. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]: Grotius Publications, 1985.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3525 .L97
McConnell, Fiona. The biodiversity convention: a negotiating history: a personal account of negotiating the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity, and after. London; Boston: Kluwer Law International, 1996
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3488.A41992 M38
Mulvaney, Kieran. The whaling season: an inside account of the struggle to stop commercial whaling. Washington, DC: Island Press/Shearwater Books, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: QL737 .C4 M85 2003
Weaver, Bobbi Ann. "Research in the Peaceable Kingdom: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography of Animal Law from an International Perspective." 30 Intl. J. Leg. Info. 426 (2002).
-Includes coverage of sources on international protection of endangered species and wildlife.
LOCATION: [International Journal of Legal Information] 3rd Floor Periodicals
Wildlife law: a global perspective. Chicago: American Bar Association, c2008.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3525 .W53 2008
Wildlife law news quarterly. Albuquerque, N.M.: Center for Wildlife Law, Institute of Public Law, University of New Mexico School of Law, 1993-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3525.A13 W54
Internet
Oregon State University Libraries Subject Research Guides: Fisheries & Wildlife.
http://ica.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/646-Fisheries-Wildlife
IUCN: The World Conservation Union
http://www.iucn.org/
World Wildlife Fund
US: http://www.worldwildlife.org/
Global: http://www.panda.org
Global Warming/Climate Change
Books
Chambers, W. Bradnee, ed. Inter-linkages: The Kyoto Protocol and the International Trade and Investment Regimes. Tokyo; New York: United Nations University Press, c2001.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: QC 981.8 .G56 I55 2001
Climate Change Science: An Analysis of Some Key Questions. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, c2001.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: QC 981.8 .C5 C55 2001
Justis, John R., and Wayne A. Morrissey. Global Climate Change. Washington, DC: Congressional Research Service, 1996.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: QC 981.8 .G56 J9 1996
Soltau, Friedrich. Fairness in international climate change law and policy. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2009.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .S66 2009
Taylor, Prue. An Ecological Approach to International Law: Responding to Challenges of Climate Change. London; New York: Routledge, 1998.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3585.4 .T39 1998
Victor, David G. The collapse of the Kyoto Protocol and the struggle to slow global warming. Princeton: Princeton University Press, c2001.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: QC 981.8 .G56 V53 2001
Yamin, Farhana, and Joanna Depledge. The international climate change regime: a guide to rules, institutions and procedures. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: QC981.8.C5 Y35 2004
Internet
Kyoto Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
http://unfccc.int/resource/docs/convkp/kpeng.html
United Nations Industrial Development Organization: Energy and Climate Change Branch
http://www.unido.org/index.php?id=o18258
Natural Resources Defense Council: Global Warming
http://www.nrdc.org/globalWarming/default.asp
United States Global Change Research Program
http://www.globalchange.gov
Ozone Depletion
Books
Bankobeza, Gilbert M. Ozone protection: the international legal regime. Utrecht, the Netherlands, 2005.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .B36 2005
Benedick, Richard Elliot. Ozone diplomacy: new directions in safeguarding the planet. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1991.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .B46
Brunnée, Jutta. Acid rain and ozone layer depletion : international law and regulation. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.: Transnational Publishers, 1988.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .B78
Gushee, David E. Montreal Protocol negotiations: should the HCFC phaseout schedule be accelerated in 1995? [Washington, D.C.] : Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress, [1994]
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .G87
Gushee, David E. Stratospheric ozone depletion: regulatory issues. [Washington, D.C.]: Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress, [1996]LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .G88 1996
Report of the second meeting of the parties to the Montreal Protocol on substances that deplete the ozone layer. [Geneva]: United Nations Environment Programme, 1990.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3593 .R46 1990
Video
Lieberman, Douglas L., and Gaylon Emerzian. Ozone: protecting the invisible shield. Washington: National Geographic Society, c1994. [Videorecording]
LOCATION: Reserve-Video
CALL NO.: QC879.7 .O96
Internet
EPA and Ozone Depletion
http://www.epa.gov/ozone/
-Includes links to various resources on ozone depletion, including "Laws and Regulations."
International Ozone Association
http://www.int-ozone-assoc.org/
-Includes a link to the association's publications catalog.
Population Control
Boland, Reed Alexander. Promoting reproductive rights: a global mandate, 1st ed. New York, NY, U.S.A.: Center for Reproductive Law and Policy, 1997.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K2000 .B65 1997
Boston University Libraries. Research Guide: Population.
http://www.bu.edu/library/guides/pop.html
--Lists various print sources for population information, and provides links to organizations addressing the issue of population control.
Simon, Rita James. Abortion: statutes, policies, and public attitude the world over. Westport, CT: Praeger, 1998.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: HQ767 .S448 1998
State of the world: a Worldwatch Institute report on progress toward a sustainable society. New York: Norton, c1984-
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: HC59 .S74
Water Conservation & Pollution
Books
Christie, Donna R., and Richard G. Hildreth. Coastal and ocean management law in a nutshell, 3rd ed. St. Paul, Minn. : West Group, 2007.
LOCATION: Reserve-Nutshells
CALL NO.: KF5627.Z9 C48 2007
Donaldson, John Francis. Safer ships, cleaner seas: report of Lord Donaldson's inquiry into the prevention of pollution from merchant shipping: presented to Parliament by the Secretary of State for Transport by command of Her Majesty, May 1994. London: HMSO, 1994.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KD3375 .D66
Gavouneli, Maria. Pollution from offshore installations. London ; Boston: Graham & Trotman/M. Nijhoff, 1995.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3590.4 .G38
International Marine Environmental Law: Institutions, Implementation and Innovations [Conference proceedings of the International Conference on Marine Environmental Law, 2002]. Frederick, MD: Aspen Publishers, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3589.6 .I57 2002
Islam, Nahid. The law of non-navigational uses of international watercourses: options for regional regime-building in Asia. Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International ; Biggleswade : Turpin Distribution, c2010.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KZ3700 .I85 2010
Kirchner, Andree. International marine environmental law: institutions, implementations, and innovations. The Hague; New York: Kluwer Law International, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3589.6 .I57 2002
Molenaar, Erik Jaap. Coastal state jurisdiction over vessel-source pollution. The Hague : Boston : Kluwer Law International, c1998.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3591.2 .M65 1998
Sohn, Louis B., and John E. Noyes. Cases and materials on the law of the sea. Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, 2004.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KZA1145 .S66 2004
VanderZwaag, David L. Canada and marine environmental protection: charting a legal course towards sustainable development. London; Boston: Kluwer Law International, 1995.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KE3625 .V36
Internet
International Maritime Organization
http://www.imo.org
United Nations. Oceans and Law of the Sea.
http://www.un.org/Depts/los/index.htm
Africa
African Conservation Foundation
http://www.africanconservation.org/
Conserve Africa
http://www.conserveafrica.org.uk/african_NGOs.php
Gyasi, Edwin A., and Juha I. Uitto, eds. Environment, biodiversity and agricultural change in West Africa: perspectives from Ghana. Tokyo New York : United Nations University Press, c1997.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: S473.G48 E69 1997
Arctic & Antarctica
Arctic environment: indigenous perspectives. Copenhagen: IWGIA, 1991.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: GN380 .I93 vol.69
Bothe, Michael, Thomas Kurzidem, and Christian Schmidt, eds. Amazonia and Siberia: legal aspects of the preservation of the environment and development in the last open spaces. London; Boston: Graham & Trotman/M. Nijhoff, 1993. LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3478.Z9 A45
Elferink, Alex G. Oude, and Donald R. Rothwell, eds. The law of the sea and polar maritime delimitation and jurisdiction. The Hague; New York: Martin Nijhoff Pub., 2001.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KZA1145.P65 .L39 2001
Elliott, Lorraine M. International environmental politics: protecting the Antarctic. New York, N.Y.: St. Martin's Press, 1994.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: JX4084.A5 E44
Smith, Eric Alden, and Joan McCarter, eds. Contested Arctic: indigenous peoples, industrial states, and the circumpolar environment. Seattle: Russian, East European, and Central Asian Studies Center at the Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies University of Washington, in association with University of Washington Press, c1997.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: GF891 .C66 1997
Vidas, Davor, ed. Protecting the polar marine environment: law and policy for pollution prevention. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3592.72 .P76 2000
Asia
Bothe, Michael, Thomas Kurzidem, and Christian Schmidt, eds. Amazonia and Siberia: legal aspects of the preservation of the environment and development in the last open spaces. London; Boston: Graham & Trotman/M. Nijhoff, 1993. LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3478.Z9 A45
Cassels, Jamie. The uncertain promise of law: lessons from Bhopal. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1993.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KNS46.U55 C37 1993
Weir, David. The Bhopal syndrome: pesticides, environment, and health. San Francisco: Sierra Club Books, c1987.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: RA1270.P4 W3
Europe
Jans, J. H. European environmental law. 2nd rev. ed. Gronigen: Europa Law Pub., 2000.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KJE6242 .J36 2000
Macrory, Richard. Principles of European environmental law: proceedings of the Avosetta Group of European Environmental Lawyers. Groningen: Europa Law Pub., 2004.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KJE6242 .A8 P74 2004
Stec, Stephen, and Susan Casey-Lefkowitz. The Aarhus Convention: an implementation guide. New York: United Nations, 2000.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KJC 6242 .S74 2000
Latin America
Bothe, Michael, Thomas Kurzidem, and Christian Schmidt, eds. Amazonia and Siberia: legal aspects of the preservation of the environment and development in the last open spaces. London; Boston: Graham & Trotman/M. Nijhoff, 1993. LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3478.Z9 A45
Brooks, David, and Jonathan Fox, eds. Cross-border dialogues: U.S.-Mexican social movement networking. La Jolla, CA: Center for U.S.-Mexico Studies, UCSD, 2002.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: E183.8.M6 C75 2002
The Burning Season: the Chico Mendes Story [Videorecording]. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Videos, 1994
LOCATION: Reserve-Videos
CALL NO.: SD411.52.M46 B87 1994
Ganster, Paul, and David E. Lorey. The U.S.-Mexico border in the twenty-first century, 2nd ed. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2009.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: F787 .G36 2009
Leonel, Mauro. Roads, Indians and the environment in the Amazon: from Central Brazil to the Pacific Ocean. Copenhagen: IWGIA, 1992.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: GN380 .I93 vol.72
Nishizawa, Toshie, and Juha I. Uitto, eds. The Fragile tropics of Latin America: sustainable management of changing environments. Tokyo ; New York : United Nations University Press, c1995.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: GE190.L29 F73 1995
Economics & Trade
Gallagher, Kevin P. Free trade and the environment: Mexico, NAFTA, and beyond. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford Law & Politics, 2004.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: HF1776 .G28 2004
Markell, David L., and John H. Knox, eds. Greening NAFTA: the North American Commission for Environmental Cooperation. Stanford, CA: Stanford Law and Politics, 2003.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: KDZ670 .G74 2003
Portwood, Timothy G. Competition law & the environment. London: Cameron May, c1994.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: K3850 .P67
Sampson, Gary P., ed. The role of the World Trade Organization in global governance. Tokyo; New York: United Nations Press, 2001.
LOCATION: 3rd Floor
CALL NO.: HF1385 .R65 2001
International Institute for Sustainable Development: IISDnet: Trade and Sustainable Development
http://www.iisd.org/trade/default.asp
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
