This is the "Home" page of the "International Trade Law & Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Trade Law & Policy  

This research guide lists selected resources on United States' international trade law and policy, with a special focus on Latin America, China and India.
Last Updated: Sep 7, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.cwsl.edu/intrade Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Print Resources

 

ABA Guide to International Business Negotiations: A Comparison of Cross-Cultural Issues and Successful Approaches(2009). [ISBN: 9781604423693]

Ralph Folsom, Michael Wallace Gordon & John A. Spanogle, International Trade and Economic Relations in a Nutshell, 4th ed. (2009)[ISBN: 9780314195203]: Gives a brief, easy-to-read overview of various relevant topics in international trade law .

The Oxford Handbook on International Trade Law (2009) [ISBN: 9780199231928]: Detailed treatise on various intl. trade law topics such as the economic context of world trade law, dispute settlement, and the relationship between world trade and other factors, i.e. human rights & environment.

Carol Murray, David Holloway & Daren Timson-Hunt, Schmitthoff’s Export Trade: The Law and Practice of International Trade, 11th ed. (2007)[ISBN: 9780421892804]: Another detailed treatise covering topics i.e., contracts, financing, transportation and insurance.

Cheol S. Eun & Bruce G. Resnick, International Financial Management, 4th ed.: Text book covering topics i.e. intl. monetary exchange rates, financial management of global firms, & financial markets.

 

 

China

Books

Patricia Blazey & Kay-Wah Chan, The Chinese Commercial Legal System (2008) [ISBN:  9780455224961]

Birgit Zinzius, Doing Business in the New China:  A Handbook and Guide (2004) [ISBN:  0275980316]

Internet--General

Business Operations in the People's Republic of China (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Kara Phillips, Web-Based Research Guides on PRC Legal & Business Resources

World Bank, Doing Business in China (2009). 

Internet--Specific Cases

In re Pet Food Products Liability Litigation: 
--
Docket sheet with links to court documents. See also, Emily Lounsberry, Tainted pet-food settlement checks distributed, Seattle Times, Aug. 29, 2011, available at http://alturl.com/375m8  & In re Pet Food Products Liability Litigation,  345 Fed.Appx. 857 (3rd Cir. 2009)

Chinese-Manufactured Drywall Liability Litigation
--Docket sheet from the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana with links to selected court documents.  See also, Rebecca Mowbray, Chinese drywall case gets underway in New Orleans this week, The Times-Picayne, Mar. 14, 2010.


 

 

U.S. Trade Law & Policy



Print Sources

Law and Policy in International Business [Periodical]

U.S. Customs:  A Practitioner's Guide to Principles, Processes and Procedures (2009) [ISBN:  1604424508]

Michael K. Young, United States Trade Law and Policy (2001) [ISBN:  0890899983]

Online Sources

United States Trade Representative   
--Includes t
rade agreements, information on countries & regions, and site-specific search engine.

 U.S. Dept. of State, Treaties in Force
--Lists and indexes bilateral & multilateral treaties & agreements in force in the U.S.

Hein’s Treaties & Agreements Library  
--Available to CWSL users only.  Good source for newer treaties that have not yet been published by official sources.  Includes finding aid.

U.S. Department of State’s Background Notes 
--Background essays on political & economic climate of various countries.

U.S. Customs & Border Protection: Trade
--Includes to publications & decisions on trade matters related to the agency.

 

Latin-American Countries

Print Sources

Thomas H. Becker, Doing Business in the New Latin America: A Guide to Cultures, Practices, and Opportunities (2004). [ISBN: 0275981320].

Brazil as an Economic Superpower?: Understanding Brazil's Changing Role in the Global Economy (2009). [ISBN: 9780815702955]

The Dollarization Debate (2003). [ISBN: 0195155351]

Ralph H. Folsom, NAFTA and Free Trade in the Americas in a Nutshell, 3rd ed. (2008). [ISBN: 9780314189622]

Law and Business Review of the Americas [quarterly periodical]

Christian Leathley, International Dispute Resolution in Latin America: An Institutional Overview (2007). [ISBN: 9041124616]

Mexico, Ley general de sociedades mercantiles, 16th ed.(2001)

Thomas A. O'Keefe, Latin American and Caribbean Trade Agreements (2009). [ISBN: 9789004164888].

Anne Marie Sabith, International Business Etiquette. Latin America: What You Need to Know to Conduct Business Abroad With Charm and Savvy (2000). [ISBN: 1564144291].

Jorge A. Vargas, trans., Mexico Commercial Code Annotated (2009) [ISBN: 9780314994882].

What Justice? Whose Justice?: Fighting for Fairness in Latin America (2003). [ISBN: 0520237447]

Online Sources

Business Operations in Argentina (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Business Operations in Brazil (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Business Operations in Chile (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Business Operations in Colombia (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Business Operations in Mexico (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Business Operations in Venezuela (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

Duke Law Library, NAFTA.

Free Trade Area of the Americas

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), Trade.

Office of the United States Trade Representative, North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

 

 

International Organizations

World Trade Organization,
--Includes links to news items, articles on trade topics, and the WTO Library (under “Resources”)

G-20
--Includes links information about the G-20 and its activities.

International Monetary Fund
--Includes links to publications & statistics.

World Bank  
--Includes publications & country activities. See also, World Bank, Doing Business.

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
--
Includes links to publications & digests of relevant cases.

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) 
--“Digital Library” has some full-text access

 

India

Print Sources

Jamie Cassels, The Uncertain Promise of Law:  Lessons from Bhopal (1993)

Manishi Pathak & Puneet Arora, Labor and Employment Law in India.  In International Labor and Employment Law (2008)

Online Sources

Business Operations in India (BNA)
--Available online to CWSL users only.

William Greene [U.S. International Trade Commission], Growth in Service Outsourcing to India:  Propellant or Drain on the U.S. Economy? (2006)

U.S. Government Accounting Office, International Trade:  U.S. and India Data on Offshoring Show Significant Differences (2005)

U.S. International Trade Commission, Competitive Conditions for Foreign Direct Investment in India (2007)

World Bank, Doing Business in India

 

Creative Commons

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip