This is the "Legal Research Sites" page of the "Legal Research Sites" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Research Sites  

Last Updated: May 8, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.cwsl.edu/legal_research_sites Print Guide RSS Updates
Legal Research Sites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Westlaw / LexisNexis / Bloomberg Law

Cover Art
Bloomberg Law
One of several legal research systems available to students at California Western that require a separate account for each student.twitter logo@BloombergLaw
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
Lexis
One of several legal research systems available to students at California Western that require a separate account for each student.twitter logo@LexisNexis
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
Westlaw
One of several legal research systems available to students at California Western that require a separate account for each student.twitter logo@Westlaw
CWSL ONLY

 

Other Sites

Cover Art
American Law Institute (HeinOnline)
Image-based collection of law journals, many from date of inception to present. Also, pre-1981 Federal Register, treaties from 1776, U.S. Supreme Court Opinions from 1754, and session laws from U.S. states. Author, title, and full text of articles are searchable.twitter logo@HeinOnline
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
Bloomberg BNA Publications
Information services on a range of legal, regulatory, economic, and international subjects. Register for e-mail updates here or through Bloomberg Law.twitter logo@BloombergBNA
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
Congress.gov
Access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. From the Library of Congress. This is in place of what was THOMAS, which now exists only in its preserved form.twitter logo@congressdotgov

Cover Art
Fast Case*
One of several legal research systems available to students and faculty at California Western.twitter logo@fastcase
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
Legal Information Institute, LII (Cornell Law School)
Freely accessible collections of some federal law. Some collections, like the the Code of Federal Regulations, are annotated with information about proposed and pending regulations that could change the current law. Directories of links to external state law sites.twitter logo@LIICornell

Cover Art
Legal Information Reference Center
Full text legal reference books and thousands of legal forms. Many are provided through Nolo Press. Publications provide detailed “how-to” instructions on matters in business law, financial planning, family law, property law, and more.
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
Law Library Resource Exchange, LLRX
Monthly collection of articles related to current issues in the law and technology (E.G drones and privacy, ethics and cloud computing, data security). Directory of links to federal and state court rules, forms, and dockets.twitter logo@LLRX

Cover Art
Ravel Law
Search for case law with with boolean search operators and see citations between cases. Create an account with your student email address for full access.twitter logo@ravellaw

Cover Art
THOMAS (Library of Congress)
THOMAS is still available as a legacy service from the Library of Congress, however, Congress.gov is the new provider of federal legislative materials.

Cover Art
VERSUSLAW
One of several legal research systems available to students at California Western that require a separate account for each student. Primary legal materials. Note: Free to law students. Register with VersusLaw to receive a password.twitter logo@versuslaw (there since 2008, but still not tweeting as of March 2015)

Cover Art
WashLaw Web
Indexes of national, international, and foreign legal information, from Washburn University School of Law. Note that some links may be old and not work anymore.

 

Financial Research

Cover Art
ABI World
Bankruptcy news, recent legislation and court rulings.twitter logo@abiworld

 

Other Subjects

Cover Art
Actual Innocence Awareness Database Archive (Tarlton Law Library)
Lists wrongful conviction resources in the United States including articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines; segments from television news; books; reports; legislation; and websites. Indexed by topic, and updated continuously.

Cover Art
P.I. Buzz
Information useful for background checks, genealogy, skip-tracing, and searching public records from or aggregated by a private investigator, Tamara Thompson.twitter logo@PIbuzz

Cover Art
Stanford Copyright and Fair Use Center
Links to law, commentary, and news on copyright issues dealing with the education and library communities. From the Stanford University Libraries, Nolo Press, and Justia.com.twitter logo@FairlyUsed

 

Career and Field

Cover Art
CEB OnLaw (Continuing Education of the Bar)
CEB’s (Continuing Education of the Bar) California Practice Guides explain aspects of practicing law in California with step-by-step instructions and forms. Each title features a table of contents, browsing, and full-text searching.

Cover Art
Papers Invited
Multidisciplinary alerting service for scholars and students who seek to present and publish their writing. Detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. Approximately 10,000 conferences are listed each year along with 1,200-1,500 special issues.
CWSL ONLY

Cover Art
FindLaw for Legal Professionals (Thomson Reuters)
Legal information and news for legal professionals along with a legal research platform. There is also a site for consumers (those who are not legal professionals) here.twitter logo@FindLawConsumertwitter logo@FindLawLP

Cover Art
Gavel2Gavel
Links to news, job-listing sites, and directories of sources for legal information. Note that some links may be old and not work anymore.

Cover Art
Practical Law Company (Thompson Reuters)
Practice materials and commentary in the areas of Corporate & Securities, Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation, Finance, Intellectual Property & Technology, Labor & Employment, Antitrust, Commercial, Environmental, Litigation & ADR, Real Estate, Tax, from the perspective of law firms and in house attorneys. Free for law students and faculty through WestlawNext.twitter logo@PracticalLawUS

 

Last Updated

March 20, 2015

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip