Nevada

Secondary Sources
• Steven Klearman, Elements of Nevada Legal Theories, Reno, NV: Nevada Legal Guides, 2006. LOCATION: 4th Floor
CALL NO.: KFN1133 .K56 2006.
--Table of Contents lists causes of action alphabetically. Additional table of contents lists elements of causes of action. Chapters provide analysis.
NV Bar Exam Info
NV Bar Exam Info
http://www.nvbar.org/content/bar-exam
Past Bar Exams & Model Answers
http://www.nvbar.org/content/model-answers
July 2012 Results
http://www.nvbar.org/content/july-2012-nevada-bar-exam-results
• State Bar of Nevada: Bar Exam [past exams from 1985]
LOCATION: 2nd Floor Microforms Room
CALL NO.: KF 303 .N4
Nevada Bar Association Information
• State Bar of Nevada: http://www.nvbar.org/
• State Bar of Nevada: Admissions: http://www.nvbar.org/content/admissions%20
• Clark Co. Bar Association.: http://www.clarkcountybar.org
• Washoe County Bar Association.: www.wcbar.org
State Administrative Law
• Nevada Administrative Code & Nevada Register links from Nevada Law Library at http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Law1.cfm
• LEXIS: NV Administrative Regulations; NV Agencies’ & Attorney General Opinions, Combined: Includes selective coverage of NV Attorney General Opinions, NV Public Utilities Commission Decisions, NV Secretary of State, Securities Division
• WESTLAW: NV Administrative Code (NV-ADC); past editions of NV Administrative Code; specialized regulations; regulation tracking databases; NV Atty General Opinions (NV-AG); NV Environmental Records (EDR-NV); NV Insurance Bulletins (NVIN-BUL); NV Public Utility Reports (NV-PUR); specialized databases for insurance, labor & employment, and securities materials.
• Gaming regulations: http://gaming.nv.gov/index.aspx?page=51
• NV Gaming Commission & State Gaming Control Board: http://gaming.nv.gov : Click on “Publications”—includes links to agency forms. Also, List of Excluded Persons (ind’ls excluded from NV casinos) available at http://gaming.nv.gov/index.aspx?page=72
Research Guides & Portals
• Clark County Law Library: http://www.clarkcountynv.gov/LawLibrary
• Nevada Law Library: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Law1.cfm
• G. LeGrande Fletcher, Nevada Practice Materials: A Selective Annotated Bibliography, 91 Law Libr. J. 313 (1999). [Available on HeinOnline and in print in 2nd Floor Microforms Room.]
Why Nevada?
• Cost of living is significantly cheaper in Reno, NV than in San Diego, with a 44% reduction in housing costs. [SOURCE: http://cgi.money.cnn.com/tools/costofliving/costofliving.html ]
• Taxes: No Nevada state income tax [SOURCE: http://tax.state.nv.us/documents/No%20Nevada%20Income%20Tax%2003%2011%2009.pdf ]
-
Less competition for legal jobs than in California
• Data Spotlight: New Lawyers Glutting the Market: http://www.economicmodeling.com/2011/06/22/new-lawyers-glutting-the-market-in-all-but-3-states/
--Reports on a study of 2009 open jobs compared to the number of bar passers by state. NY was first with the biggest glut, followed by CA. NV was 25th & AZ was 26th.
• Incentives for businesses to incorporate [See, http://whynevada.com/
-
Nevada Legal Research Guide (2012) [Print Resource]
Incorporation in Nevada
· Nevada’s Secretary of State, http://nvsos.gov/ : Includes information on incorporation.
· Incorp, Henderson, NV: http://www.incorp.com
Careers: http://www.incorp.com/incorp-careers.aspx
· Nevada Corporation Services, Ltd. (Lake Tahoe, NV) http://www.nevada123.com/
· Nevada First Holdings (Las Vegas, NV) http://www.nevadafirst.com/
· Corporate Services of Nevada (Carson City, NV) http://www.nevadacorps.com/
· Nevada Corporate Services (Las Vegas, NV) http://www.nevadacorporateservices.com/
· Corporate Service Center (Reno, NV) http://www.corporateservicecenter.com/
Careers: http://www.corporateservicecenter.com/careers.html
· Nevada Corporate Headquarters (Las Vegas, NV) http://www.nchinc.com/
· And many more. . .
See, Nevada Registered Agent Assn., http://www.nraa.biz/default.aspx
State Case Law
• Nevada Reports [1865-1882; Supreme Court of Nevada]
LOCATION: 4th Floor
CALL NO.: KFN645 .A2
• Pacific Reporter
LOCATION: 2nd Floor
CALL NO.: KF135 .P12;
• Pacific Digest
LOCATION: 2nd Floor
CALL NO.: KF135 .P21 W42
• WESTLAW: State Courts (NV-CS); State & Federal Courts (NV-CS-ALL)
• LEXIS: Nevada Cases; Nevada State & Federal Cases
• Supreme Court of NV (past 90 days): http://www.nevadajudiciary.us/index.php/advance-opinions
• Updating: Shepard’s on LEXIS; KeyCite on Westlaw.
State Legislation
• Nevada Revised Statutes
LOCATION: 4th Fl.
CALL NO.: KFN630 1957 .A2
• WESTLAW: Annotated: NV-ST-ANN; Unannotated: NV-ST; Nevada Legislative Service: Current: NV-LEGIS; Archived: NV-LEGIS-OLD. Also, various legislative history files.
• LEXIS: Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated; Nevada Advanced Legislative Service; NV Bill-Tracking & Full Text Bills; NV Legislative Bill History.
• Nevada Law Library: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Law1.cfm [Nevada State Statutes and Session Laws from 1999]
• Nevada Session Laws (from 1864)
LOCATION: 2nd Floor Microforms Room
FILE: W.S. Hein’s Session Laws of American States and Territories
• Referenda & Initiatives: Thomas R. Boone, Researching Initiatives and Referenda: A Guide for Nevada, Leg. Ref. Serv. Q., Vol. 26, Nos. 3 & 4, 2007, at 223.
Getting a job
GOVERNMENT JOBS
-
State Bar of NV Career Center: http://nvbar.legalstaff.com/Common/HomePage.aspx?abbr=NVBAR
• NV Dept of Personnel: http://dop.nv.gov/
• City of Las Vegas Jobs: http://www.lasvegasnevada.gov/Apply/jobs.htm
• City of Reno Jobs: http://www.cityofreno.com/Index.aspx?page=300
• Carson City Job Opportunities: http://www.carson-city.nv.us/Index.aspx?page=2045
• Clark County Human Resources: http://agency.governmentjobs.com/clarkcounty/default.cfm
• Washoe County Human Resources: http://www.washoecounty.us/humanresources/index.html
• Federal jobs in NV: http://www.usajobs.gov/
--Click on “Search Jobs” tab & limit location to NV
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTORS
Howard Riell, Government Contractors: Working with the System, Nev. Bus., July 6, 2012, available at http://www.nevadabusiness.com/2012/07/government-contractors-working-with-the-system/
National Security Technologies: http://www2.nstec.com/Pages/index.aspx
CACI Careers: http://careers.caci.com/
General Dynamics: http://www.gdcareers.com/gdchq_jobs/main.cfm
Booz Allen Hamilton: http://www.boozallen.com/careers
United Technologies: http://careers.utc.com/index.asp
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Court Rules & Procedure
STATE
• Court Rules of Nevada, http://www.leg.state.nv.us/COURTRULES/ : Includes links to various court rules for the state.
• LEXIS: Nevada State & Federal Court Rules; Nevada Civil Practice Manual [index and full-text searching, as well as browsing of table of contents]
• WESTLAW: Nevada Court Rules (NV-RULES); Criminal Justice—Nevada Court Rules (NVCJ-RULES)
FEDERAL
• Federal Ninth Circuit Civil Appellate Practice
LOCATION: Reserve
CALL NO.: KF 9054 9th .N4
• Federal Appellate Practice Guide: Ninth Circuit
LOCATION: 4th Floor
CALL NO.: KF 9054 9th .F43 1999
• Federal Local Court Rules
LOCATION: 4th Floor
CALL NO.: KF 8820 .A193 1995
• Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure
LOCATION: 4th Floor
CALL NO.: KF 8835 .C9
• Federal Rules of Evidence Digest
LOCATION: 4th Floor
CALL NO.: KF 8935 .F42
• U.S. Supreme Court: http://www.supremecourtus.gov/ctrules/ctrules.html
• Ninth Circuit: http://www.ca9.uscourts.gov/rules/
• U.S. District Court, District of Nevada:
http://www.nvd.uscourts.gov/
--Select “Local Rules” from left frame.
Municipal Codes
• Nevada County and City Codes Online, http://www.leg.state.nv.us/lcb/research/library/codes.cfm
Relocation Resources
• Martin, Nevada in your future : the complete relocation guide for job-seekers, businesses, retirees and winter "snowbirds" (2004)—Available at several branches of the San Diego Public Library (http://www.sandiego.gov/public-library/) , Call No. 917.9304/MARTIN
• Smith & Smith, Moving to Las Vegas (2002)—Available at the Coronado Public Library (Catalog: http://74.62.186.68/; Adult Shelves, Call No. 917.93135 SMI)
• Houses: www.realtor.com
• Rentals:
Move.com: www.move.com
My Cheap Apartments: http://www.mycheapapartments.com/
--For pet-friendly rentals:
People with Pets: http://www.peoplewithpets.com/
Rentdigs.com, Pet Friendly Las Vegas Houses & Apartments for Rent
http://www.rentdigs.com/Nevada/Las-Vegas-Pet-Friendly-Apartments.aspx
Rentdigs.com, Pet Friendly Reno Apartments & Houses for Rent
http://www.rentdigs.com/Nevada/Reno-Pet-Friendly-Apartments.aspx
Rentdigs.com, Pet Friendly Carson City Apartments & Houses for Rent
http://www.rentdigs.com/Nevada/Carson-City-Pet-Friendly-Apartments.aspx


Loading...
